17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good cake! I agree that it gets better the day after its baked. I did used a 1/4 less sugar and would do that again. I think I'll add nuts and raisins next time. I topped the cake with an applesauce cream cheese frosting. Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 25, 2011

It definitely came out moist and rich! The flavors of the spices and molasses reminded me of a carrot cake. Next time, I may try cutting back on the sugar, just a little bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil'PG March 03, 2007

Moist, rich, delicious - not overly sweet. I too used fresh grated nutmeg. You can throw this one together in just a few quick minutes. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DangerBun February 24, 2007

Excellent! Loved this recipe. I made the following changes...decreased oil to 1/3 cup, decreased sugar by half, used pear sauce because that's what I had and I baked these as muffins/cupcakes. They were great! I baked for 15 min at 375 (convection oven) and it made 24 medium muffins. Thanks for posting, will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
limeleaf February 12, 2014

Loved it! I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat flour (both made by King Arthur Flour Co.). Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 March 22, 2011

Okay, nothing special. I used all applesauce. It is kinda chewy. It was simple to put together and quick to bake, but the flavor was ho-hum. I would not make again. **I want to update this to say how much BETTER the cake is a day or two later. It is much moister and tastier. I will make it again with walnuts and raisins, at the request of my husband. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth April 04, 2008

This was an easy quick cake. It was delicious with a dollop of homemade whipped cream. Just sweet enough to take care of the sweet tooth. I also replaced some of the oil with more applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deadsexy_ak March 08, 2008

My two young daughters (5 and 7) made this cake by themselves. It is easy enough for a kid! It came out okay, sorta bland. Not bad, just not outstanding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ela_girl August 14, 2007

I made this cake with my residents at a nursing home we try a new recipe each week. We made it in a jelly roll pan and only baked for 20 minutes. We do not like to wait for a treat from the oven. The residents wanted to give the recipe 6 stars. Easy to make. Great taste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorlakerat45 July 25, 2007

This was a very tasty recipe. I used just 1/4 cup of oil and increased the applesauce to 1 1/4 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
What's Cooking? October 04, 2006
Applesauce Cake