Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Applesauce Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Applesauce Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2011

      Very good cake! I agree that it gets better the day after its baked. I did used a 1/4 less sugar and would do that again. I think I'll add nuts and raisins next time. I topped the cake with an applesauce cream cheese frosting. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      It definitely came out moist and rich! The flavors of the spices and molasses reminded me of a carrot cake. Next time, I may try cutting back on the sugar, just a little bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2007

      Moist, rich, delicious - not overly sweet. I too used fresh grated nutmeg. You can throw this one together in just a few quick minutes. Highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Excellent! Loved this recipe. I made the following changes...decreased oil to 1/3 cup, decreased sugar by half, used pear sauce because that's what I had and I baked these as muffins/cupcakes. They were great! I baked for 15 min at 375 (convection oven) and it made 24 medium muffins. Thanks for posting, will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Loved it! I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat flour (both made by King Arthur Flour Co.). Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Okay, nothing special. I used all applesauce. It is kinda chewy. It was simple to put together and quick to bake, but the flavor was ho-hum. I would not make again. **I want to update this to say how much BETTER the cake is a day or two later. It is much moister and tastier. I will make it again with walnuts and raisins, at the request of my husband. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This was an easy quick cake. It was delicious with a dollop of homemade whipped cream. Just sweet enough to take care of the sweet tooth. I also replaced some of the oil with more applesauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      My two young daughters (5 and 7) made this cake by themselves. It is easy enough for a kid! It came out okay, sorta bland. Not bad, just not outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I made this cake with my residents at a nursing home we try a new recipe each week. We made it in a jelly roll pan and only baked for 20 minutes. We do not like to wait for a treat from the oven. The residents wanted to give the recipe 6 stars. Easy to make. Great taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      This was a very tasty recipe. I used just 1/4 cup of oil and increased the applesauce to 1 1/4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I needed a vegan cake so I tried this one with egg replacer, it turned out great, very light with a very destinct flavour due to the use of molases and the spices, I used freshly grated nutmeg and believe this added a delightful flavour. It also was very easy to make, I didn't beat any of the engriedients just mixed well. Next time I'll try using 1/4 cup oil 1 1/4 cups applesauce. Thank you so much, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I used butter rather than oil, left out the molasses and nutmeg, added extra applesauce ... and it still turned GREAT. This is one of those cake recipes that starts out fluffy and moist and gets even more moist ... perfect cake recipe to make a couple of days in advance. This one's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Easy...delicious. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup and increased the applesauce to 1 1/4 cups..may omit the oil completely next time and use 1 1/2 cups applesauce...but WILL make it again...thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      This cake got a thumbs up from the hubby, and I thought it was yummy too. Great dessert after a spicy meal with some fresh coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Another easy and tasty Zaar recipe!! The applesauce and molasses brought this to life. I froze some for unexpected visitors. Thanks Virginia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      This is a super duper cake, love the molasses, cinnamon and nutmeg!! Lovely rich taste without being too sweet. Didn't need it but looked nice with a sift of icing sugar on top to finish it. It disapeared before my eyes, gone in a flash!! I used splenda instead of the sugar, other than that followed the recipe exact and will be making this one again for sure, thanks for sharing a light as a feather treat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This is very similar to an old family recxipie of mine. I can't share the exact recipie--it's a sworn family secret. But this one thing I will share: try it with chocolate chips stirred in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Applesauce Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1046 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.5
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    32%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 169.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes