11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family loved this, just a touch too much red pepper flakes. I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RegenaG January 31, 2013

Sooo yummy! I made a few adjustments to this recipe - first, instead of whole chicken breasts, I cubed about 1 1/2 pounds of chicken, and breaded them before cooking. It made the dish taste like a chicken parm casserole! I also added chopped bell pepper to the sauce and used red wine instead of white. I think next time, I'll try either fresh tomatoes or canned diced instead of the can of stewed tomatoes - I'm just not a fan of the large, large chunks in the sauce. I used reduced fat mozz cheese and grated romano instead of parmesan (just a personal preference.) Overall, this is a wonderful recipe and I'll definitely make it again. It yields a LOT, so would be great for a large family or dinner party. Otherwise, you may want to consider halving the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimad February 26, 2011

Great recipe! Went together pretty easily and even my picky four year old liked it. Definitely one I'd repeat. I think the only thing I'd change next time is to add a little tomato sauce ad less tomatoes to the dish, just because we like our pasta dishes with lots of sauce. Overall we thought it was Delicious! Another family hit. Thanks Kitten!! [tagged for the Think Pink Event]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTpockets October 02, 2009

This was a great dish. I added some carrots to the sauce and next time I will make even more to pour over the pasta. Thank you kittencal for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashlynn08 April 28, 2009

I thought this was super yummy. My husband and I really enjoyed it. This will be the sauce I will used for my italian dishes from now on. Thanks for yet another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama T of Two March 04, 2009

I made this but haven't had a chance to try it...but hubby says 5 stars! I crumbled and pan-fried 1 lb of hot italian sausage to add to the sauce (on another reviewer's idea) and otherwise followed the recipe. The house smelled awesome while this was cooking! Will be sampling it myself today:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada September 29, 2008

This was tasty and very simple. I think it would be good with browned pork sausage or chicken sausages instead of the chicken breast. I used cubed chicken tenders. I really liked the tomato sauce and will use it when I need a marinara sauce. I made it on Sunday and we will be eating it all week! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight September 27, 2008

What a great comfort dish!!! Easy to prepare and oh so GOOD!!! Used 4 boneless chicken breasts and added a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes. Used red wine instead of white... Also added some cherry tomatoes that I needed to use up. Thanks Kit for a delish dinner! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie March 20, 2008

very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pacmore November 21, 2007

What a fabulous recipe. I put it all together in the morning and when I got home from my girls swimming at night all I had to do was heat the oven and cook for 20/25 minutes. Fabulous kid friendly, husband filler, family recipe that allows anything to be thrown in with it. Next time I will add lots more veggies perhaps zucchini and capsicum and definitely some mushrooms. In stead of the stewed tomatoes I used a tin of tomato soup. A keeper for this family and will be made often. Thanks Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 11, 2007
Chicken and Penne Casserole