Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Gravy, Brown Sauce, and White Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gravy, Brown Sauce, and White Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2010

      Thanks for the basics. I won't be using any water just drippings for full flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I can rember my mom stirring the rue mixture until it was perfect brown color. This recipe brought back those memories. Thank you so much for posting. I added two beef boullion cubes to my water after it reached a boil. Then I used a wisk to stir the boullion mixture into the rue. I also added a little wine and onion powder to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I used milk to make the white gravy. I had to add more flour to thicken the gravy and I believe I added more pepper than the recipe calls for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Just what I always needed, a simple versatile recipe to make gravy. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I needed a white sauce for some macaroni and cheese I was making and decided to use this. I am so glad I did! The sauce turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      thank you for posting this recipe, my sister is always asking me how to make gravy and i never measure so it was very hard for me to tell her. i printed this and gave it to her and she said it turned out great! it was the first time she was able to do it, so she was very excited! thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Thank you for putting into print the a bit of fat, flour etc and stir until thickend info. Wonderful and a must have for all cookbooks. It is great to pass on to younger generations who are not at Mother?Grama's apron to learn such Pearls f wisdom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This method makes a great gravy and sauces. I have been doing this for years! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Just used your technique this morning to make sausage milk gravy. Good instructions! I used the drippings from frying 1 lb. of pork sausage & needed about 1/4 cup flour & 3 cups of milk to get the consistency we like. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      this is the best set of instructions for gravy ive seen everyone should have this in their cookbook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gravy, Brown Sauce, and White Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    13%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 50.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    meat drippings

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes