Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Haricots Verts With Warm Shallot Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Haricots Verts With Warm Shallot Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2009

      Delicious! I made this with my garden green beans and also added in some chopped fresh garlic in the skillet with more olive oil, lots of black pepper and used seasoned salt, great flavor thanks for sharing Lori!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Very good taste. I used vidalia onions because I didn't have shallots. Also added some garlic...couldn't imagine green beans without it! Halved the recipe easily without any effect on the taste. Thanks for posting. Made for PRMR Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This was not bad at all. Not outstanding, but not bad. I had regular green beans (the smallest I could find), and par boiled them only for one minute, to set the color (this is my normal method, and gets to the doneness that we like). You need to add a mention in step two for the oil. Most of us will pick up on that, but for the novice cook, please mention it. I liked how the vinegar reduced down nearly to a syrupy consistancy, but felt that it needed something more... garlic, herbs, bacon, I'm not really sure what, but it was missing something that would really give it that wow! factor. This is a good starting point, but I will definatley experiment rather than just using the recipe as written. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Really enjoyed this last night. I did steam the beans in the microwave, then found out I had no onion of any kind, so improvised from there. I splashed a touch of olive oil into the pan, sprinkled it with some onion powder, then added the vinegar. I used a red wine with garlic that I had bought by mistake, and I really liked this... However, the entire time it was cooking down, I felt the need to brain my husband with a frying pan as he said over and over "oh... it makes me want a pickle REAL bad... " The vinegar smell is very strong as it reduces, so be prepared. Sprinkled with some bacon crumbles before serving. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Wonderful beans!!! This is very similar to one of our family favorites, minus the bacon! I only made 1/2 of the recipe for the two of us and I eyeballed the salt and pepper for our tastes. Just love the tang from the vinegar combined with the flavor of the shallots and green beans. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

    • on July 07, 2009

      One of my favorite new ways to make green beans! Everyone loved them here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      We enjoyed these very much. I only had one shallot so I used some minced garlic as well. I enjoyed the vinegar flavor. Made for Las Mistico Magicos Sirenas - ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      I prepared this just as it's written and it's delicious. I love the way the shallots carmelized. Next time I'll add some garlic, too. Made for Jammin' Java Jivers ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Simply wonderful! The shallot vinaigrette was a sweet-savory accent to one of my favorite vegetables. For fun, I replaced olive oil with white truffle oil and sprinkled fresh thyme and chives on top. It all worked together. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Lauralie. Made as "Slice of Lime Babe" of the Bodacious Brickhouse Babes for ZWT5 French region.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      These were very good I liked the tang of the vinegar and I love shallots. I added some minced garlic in with the shallots and kosher salt at the end. This is a side dish I will make again. Thanks Lauralie for sharing your recipe, made for ZWT 5 by one of the Cooks With Dirty Faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was a nice side dish to Grillade of Veal Chops and Caribbean Lobster Tail 373232. I agree with much of what IngridH wrote in her review. I too, thought it needed something more, such as garlic and herbs to give it the "wow" factor, but as it was, it was easy to prepare and it tasted good. Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Ooops, hit the wronge button on the previous non-review! Sorry! (Blush) I LOVED this recipe and knew I would as soon as I read it, while searching for ZWT5 recipes. Aside from the fact that I could almost DRINK red wine vinegar... My grocery store had awful looking beans, so pic is not the best, and I did add 1 teaspoon of sugar to the sauce, (serving for 2), but they were great! Hubby didn't like because I have an anti-vinegar family, but I did THIS one for myself. I'll eat the rest cold! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      These were a very tasty addition to my French inspired dinner table! I loved the vinegar addition, and we will have these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Wonderful, beautiful, simple and delicious. This recipe really takes me back to my travels in France, and the rustic food that is so loved. This is real french food!! Simple and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      it was just okay to me. the flavor wasn't all that. it didn't taste bad but it wasn't a particularly tasty dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Delicious! I too was afraid the vinegar would overpower the dish but it was fantastic. I was out of red wine vinegar so I used white wine vinegar and a splash of balsamic. Will definitely make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I was so nervous making this. I thought that the vinegar would overwhelm the beans. I wasn't prepared for the magic that happened between the lone TBSP of oil, sweet caramelized shallots, a pinch of salt and my sweet, garden snap beans. And it was magic. We added the pepper at the table. Next year shallots are going in the garden--right next to the beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Couldn't find fresh haricots verts but I did find thin green beans. I was afraid the vinegar would overwhelm the beans, but almost all of it cooked off before the beans even got added in. Actually, I think more than it was supposed to and I need to cook over medium rather than medium high heat next time. We thought there was too much pepper and not enough salt, so I would switch the amounts on those next time, but tasty overall. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Magically Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Haricots Verts With Warm Shallot Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    32%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 160.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes