Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Holiday Garlic-Lemon Green Beans With Bread Crumbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Holiday Garlic-Lemon Green Beans With Bread Crumbs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2011

      Enjoyed this very much, easily prepared (in fact my daughter made them while I was busy with the mushroom risotto that was our main dish). Our sauce was quite thick and we used garlic and herb stock rather than chicken stock. Really really nice and definitely making it again! Thank you Nimz! Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      My, family and I love this green bean recipe. When I first made them I liked them so much I made them like 4 days in a row!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I~LOVE~YOUR~BEANS! Well, they weren't exactly YOUR beans, but the recipe is & I'm with the other reviewers in saying that this bean dish beats other bean casseroles every which way! I did my usual thing & substituted good ol' lemon pepper for the S&P, but other than that, the recipe was followed & the outcome was WONDERFUL! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This was a really good alternative to traditional casserole. Maybe I did something wrong but the sauce for the beans came off kind of bland. The toasted bread crumbs(I used Progresso Panko Italian) were a great addition. I think next time I will omit the flour and stick with butter, seasonsings, cheese and crumbs. Thanks for the inspiration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Delicious green beans!!! I didn't wait for the holiday, made these last night to serve along with meatloaf and a potato casserole. My two kids won't eat the "normal" green bean casserole, so this is an awesome dish that they both ate with no complaints. I just loved the crispy buttery topping!!! Thanks Nimz for sharing. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This was a real winner at the Easter dinner I hosted this year. I agree that this is a much better recipe for green beans than the traditional casserole. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      YUM! Looks and tastes fancy without any effort. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Wonderful green bean recipe, thank you Nimz! I used a can of plain bread crumbs and ran out of parmesan cheese for the topping but it was still very tasty. Instead of fresh green beans I used a 29 oz can of cut green beans. Made the sauce with the butter, garlic, flour, and red pepper. Slowly added the chicken broth to get a thicker sauce, added the green beans, the chicken broth and simmered covered for about 4 minutes and than uncovered to get my sauce to thicken completely. The lemon juice is a nice flavor to add and the topping is so good. These green beans will be replacing the traditional green bean casserole we always have on Thanksgiving! Thanks again Cathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This is a delicious way to prepare fresh green beans. The directions are well written and very easy to follow. Made these exactly as written and will make again without changing a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      I will never cook green beans any other way. It took more effort than usual, but so worth it. I put extra lemon juice....yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      It doesn't need to be a holiday to make these deliciously different, garlicky green beans, but you will want to celebrate when you taste them. I have been stuck in making one or two green beans recipes, mostly plain and simple. This recipe has now become my favorite, and I know I can vary the spices a bit to compliment any main course. This recipe was super easy to make and actually held in the pan for almost 10 minutes while the rest of the meal was cooking. Awsome recipe, NimrodCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Holiday Garlic-Lemon Green Beans With Bread Crumbs

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.3
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    48%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 16.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 200.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites