11 Reviews

Enjoyed this very much, easily prepared (in fact my daughter made them while I was busy with the mushroom risotto that was our main dish). Our sauce was quite thick and we used garlic and herb stock rather than chicken stock. Really really nice and definitely making it again! Thank you Nimz! Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 22, 2011

My, family and I love this green bean recipe. When I first made them I liked them so much I made them like 4 days in a row!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJam August 21, 2011

I~LOVE~YOUR~BEANS! Well, they weren't exactly YOUR beans, but the recipe is & I'm with the other reviewers in saying that this bean dish beats other bean casseroles every which way! I did my usual thing & substituted good ol' lemon pepper for the S&P, but other than that, the recipe was followed & the outcome was WONDERFUL! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 24, 2009

This was a really good alternative to traditional casserole. Maybe I did something wrong but the sauce for the beans came off kind of bland. The toasted bread crumbs(I used Progresso Panko Italian) were a great addition. I think next time I will omit the flour and stick with butter, seasonsings, cheese and crumbs. Thanks for the inspiration.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri at the Beach December 06, 2008

Delicious green beans!!! I didn't wait for the holiday, made these last night to serve along with meatloaf and a potato casserole. My two kids won't eat the "normal" green bean casserole, so this is an awesome dish that they both ate with no complaints. I just loved the crispy buttery topping!!! Thanks Nimz for sharing. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 25, 2008

This was a real winner at the Easter dinner I hosted this year. I agree that this is a much better recipe for green beans than the traditional casserole. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 23, 2008

YUM! Looks and tastes fancy without any effort. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev November 22, 2007

Wonderful green bean recipe, thank you Nimz! I used a can of plain bread crumbs and ran out of parmesan cheese for the topping but it was still very tasty. Instead of fresh green beans I used a 29 oz can of cut green beans. Made the sauce with the butter, garlic, flour, and red pepper. Slowly added the chicken broth to get a thicker sauce, added the green beans, the chicken broth and simmered covered for about 4 minutes and than uncovered to get my sauce to thicken completely. The lemon juice is a nice flavor to add and the topping is so good. These green beans will be replacing the traditional green bean casserole we always have on Thanksgiving! Thanks again Cathy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 November 12, 2007

This is a delicious way to prepare fresh green beans. The directions are well written and very easy to follow. Made these exactly as written and will make again without changing a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 26, 2007

I will never cook green beans any other way. It took more effort than usual, but so worth it. I put extra lemon juice....yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AthenaD December 24, 2006
Holiday Garlic-Lemon Green Beans With Bread Crumbs