8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice alternative to Chicken Marsala or Chicken Picatta. I will put it in rotation for dinner, but will reduce the butter and perhaps grill the chicken to reduce some of the fat. It tastes fantastic! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 07, 2011

Absolutely wonderful! I made this for a Burns Supper and it was a big hit. The one thing I changed was to use bacon instead of pancetta, as pancetta was not available at my grocery store. The flavor of the sauce is wonderful - the tartness and sweetness perfectly balanced with the smoky flavors of the bacon and whisky. I have already made this twice and will make it regularly since it was such a hit with my husband!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinajewel January 31, 2010

I thought this recipe was good. I'm not a big fan of hot toddy, BH is however. I feel the recipe would have been a tad better with some asagio cheese on top. I wouldn't mind trying this again with a change in a couple ingredients, like bacon instead of pancetta. Can't wait to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat December 02, 2008

Thanks to Recipe Swap I came across this recipe to try. I surprised my DH by making two versions, one w/lemon and one wo/lemon. Since I was allergic to lemon I wanted to see if this recpe would come out good with out it. According to my DH both ways were excellant! Wow is this soo good even without the lemon in it. Thanks to you we hand an elegant meal tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE November 02, 2007

Wonderful!! Loved the smoky bacon flavor combined with the smooth whiskey and sweet honey. Awesome. I will surely make this dish again. I only made one change....I used agave nectar instead of honey. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreadnoxx June 14, 2007

This needs more stars! How delicious, and worth the work! The sauce is going to be tried on some Tilapia next time. The flavors will be nice with the white fish. It tasted like the hot toddys my grandmother made to fight a cold. (they didn't cure the cold, but after a couple of them, you didn't care!) The potatoes had just enough garlic, not to be overpowering! Thanks, FT, for posting this one! It is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 25, 2007

Lovely recipe ! I used regular bacon instead of pasncetta, and cut this down to two servings. Knowing that my DH loves whisky but is not overly fond of lemon, I put in more lemon zest and no lemon juice and a decent extra swig of whisky :) While I liked this a lot, my not-so-chicken-loving hubby declared that the garlic mash and the sauce were lovely but that he didn't care for the chicken so very much. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a recipe that I would love to make for myself more often, and what a pity that DH didn't like it better as I think it's yummy. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch February 01, 2007

I made this dish, with a number of modifications. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, subbed low-fat spread for the butter, and prosciutto for the pancetta, all to reduce the fat content. It was good, but a little tart - I think it was due to my modifications. Next time, I will reduce the lemon a bit. That being said, the consistency of the sauce was perfect, and the potatoes? Pure heaven. Thanks, French Tart!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower November 04, 2006
Hot Toddy Chicken With Pancetta and Garlic Mashed Potatoes