9 Reviews

Good recipe but too sweet. The second batch was better when I cut the sugat to 1-1/2 cips.
I added a touch of cardamom and it really brought out the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodisiac October 20, 2010

Made this recipe, half with almost a cup of dried cranberries & the other half as written ~ Although we enjoyed both of them tremendously, I particularly liked the loaf with the berries added! I cut both loaves in half & froze half of each just to see how well that would work & am confident they will be just as great tasting as when the first halves were devoured! One other thing you should know, we got 5 servings from a half-loaf, so that would bring the total servings for the 2 loaves to 20 ~ That's quite a drop in the totals listed in the 'Nutrition Facts!' Thanks for a great recipe keeper! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 22, 2009

This was really good! I actually made one loaf pan and 24 mini muffins. Instead of using the full cup of oil, I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup of mango and applesauce. I left out the nuts but may add them next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe!Oh and the loaf freezes very well too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * January 21, 2004

Great recipe Yamma! I love this bread..not too sweet, but just right. And you get 2! I love that. :) I chopped the orange in a blender, and it took a few minutes. I had to add a splash of water to get things moving. The bread mixed up quickly and was done perfectly after 1 hour. Thanks yamma!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao June 25, 2003

I omited the cinnamon and pineapple, added a teaspoon of grated orange zest, 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup dried cranberries. This bread is awesome! So good for a breakfast bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandys7118 January 30, 2013

This recipe turned out perfectly. I made 24 muffins instead of loaves of bread and then froze half the muffins to use later. These are moist and full of flavor. The only slight change was I really pumped up the cinnamon and added a few sprinkles of nutmeg to the batter. I love Syd's idea of adding dried cranberries and will do that next time as the combo of the sweetness from the orange and tartness from the cranberries will be wonderful. Great addition to my baking cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom May 22, 2010

This bread is wonderful. I used it for part of my holiday baking and all my neighbors raved about it. The only change I made was substituting applesauce for the oil. It was very good. Stacy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacy72468 December 29, 2007

This was incredibly delicious. I was skeptical about throwing a whole orange in there, but it tasted great. I used Splenda instead of sugar, and replaced half the flour with wheat flour. Turned out great, will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
machineangel December 08, 2006

This recipe got rave reviews from my friends. I love the texture. I made it in a Bundt pan instead of loaf pans and frosted it with an orange/powedered sugar glaze. It froze well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen Noecker January 28, 2004
Orange Bread