11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I used evaporated milk & also added some carrots that I had in the house that day. I am going to try and freeze this for a later date. I really hope it is just as delicious as the first time around.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.M October 16, 2011

Very good Soup! We enjoyed this for a light dinner tonight. I did not have any red or green pepper so I omitted. I used evaporated milk not cream. Made for Ausie Swap 35.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana December 18, 2009

This is really nice, honestly it was better than I thought it would be. I used some leftover sausages I had that were a bit spicy, and also added just a little white pepper to kick it up a bit. Also added some fresh sage. I used an entire container of evaporated milk, and just 1/2 cup of regular milk. A nice homey type of soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte December 05, 2009

This recipe was the inspiration for dinner tonight. I subbed hamburger for sausage so I added extra ground sage. I used 3 bouillon beef cubes and an extra cup of water so no milk or evaporated milk. I used 6 oz of cream cheese and about 1 cup of cheese whiz instead. I also had some cooked bacon and chopped celery that I threw in too. This made for a great dinner - we all loved it and will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie November 16, 2009

"That was delicious" is one comment I got. We really enjoyed this. I made some minor changes: Since I used regular breakfast sausage instead of sage-style, I added extra sage to the soup. I added 1/4 tsp black pepper. And I used milk instead of adding any cream. I didn't add any peppers to the pot of soup because some in my family don't like them. So I diced some roasted red pepper to add to individual bowls at serving time. This was easy, yet tasty enough for special occasions. For every day serving, I think it would be more budget-and-diet-conscious if the sausage were stretched over a bit more soup. So when I make this again, I might increase the other amounts except for the sausage. (the calorie count doesn't include sausage - per my package's calculations, it more than doubles the fat and calorie content of the soup - I'd like to reduce it a bit). Thanks for sharing your family recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply April 30, 2009

This was really good. The quality of the sausages is really the key.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy February 02, 2009

Aussie Swap 19: Simple and full of flavor! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose August 20, 2008

I am giving five stars because my husband said to give it ten. My kids weren't as impressed by it. I used half and half in place of milk and cream and added extra sausage and some pepper and granulated garlic. (made for "please try my recipe" tag)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn December 15, 2007

I added an orange pepper with the red pepper for a more "confetti" look. I think it was a little strong on the sage but perhaps it was my sage sausage (store-brand)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori December 08, 2007

Buddha loved this soup! We added about 1/2 tsp of mace, and 1/4 cup chopped green onions. It also needed more salt and pepper to get more flavor from this soup. We used a mild sausage, and Buddha said next time he would use a Hot sausage for this recipe. Thanks for sharing this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 26, 2007
Potato Sausage/Christmas/Confetti Soup