Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Cabbage and Apples

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2010

      When I asked my German mother how to cook this she couldn't remember quantities because she does everything 'by eye'. I served this to her and my German aunt with goose on Christmas Day and they said it was delicious. Didn't put the cider in though because I'd forgotten to buy any!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      So easy and flavorful! I used my last cabbage from my garden and was so happy with the results. This is just to easy not to make. I used the food processor for shredding the cabbage, apples, and potato. Don`t skip the caraway it is a must! Thanks!!!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I made this to go with a steak and ale pie for Christmas Eve supper. It drew an enthusiastic response from my mother-in-law and the leftovers made it onto the Christmas Day menu (served with Roast Goose!). I stuck to the ingredients but cooked it in the oven slower and longer (Gas 2/150C for 1.5 hours). It also reheated well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Just OK for me, made this recipe for a gathering and not one reply about the cabbage. Will not make again and continue to look for that one recipe that will knock everyone's soxs' off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2006

      I made this as written except for leaving out the caraway, because I dislike caraway. We did not care for this - all we could taste was the vinegar. Vinegar lovers might enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      This cabbage recipe was bursting with flavors. Tangy, spicy, filling, and attractive. I had some red cabbage and I had never cooked it before (usually just used it in salads). You said you liked Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage, but this is the recipe that looked most interesting to me. I'm glad I made it, because it WAS delicious! Thanks, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      This was fantastic Bergy! Once again I was not dissappointed, as with most of your recipes. I made this for dinner last night to serve with pork chops and was delighted with the flavour. Very easy to put together. It took mine longer than 40 minutes, but that might be a personal preference in how well I like my cabbage done. I also added a TBS of red currant jelly and used apple juice instead of cider. I halved the recipe as well with no problems. It turned out perfect! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      Not overpowering like so many other red cabbage recipes but with just enough "tang." I can hardly wait for my daughter to try it, she is the Danish expert in the family. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      So very good! I love it because it is so nutritious not to mention tasty. I didn't have any caraway seed so I just put in some slivered almonds. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2001

      Very good. I'll definitly have to make it again at Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Cabbage and Apples

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.3
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    38%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites