Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Christmas / Skillet Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Skillet Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2007

      This is the perfect cornbread! A lady who used to cook for my family made cornbread like this and I have been looking for her recipe forever! Thank you Bev!!! I made 2 skillets-full, one to eat tonight and one to make Bev's cornbread dressing with. The only warning I have is that this cooked REALLY fast in my oven at 475 degrees. I don't know if my oven is running hot or something, but I would check the bread at 15 minutes because it might already be done. Try this cornbread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Dh spent some growing-up time in Texas and this is his idea of the perfect cornbread. He loved it! He ate it with syrup for breakfast and with soup for dinner. He had it with peanut butter for lunch and with jam for a snack. The other half of the panful I froze to make Bev's cornbread Dressing. I'm afraid I'm a Yankee cornbread eater and missed my sugar, but you surely scored a hit with my Southern boy. Thank's Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This was easy, fast and tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I substituted vegetable oil for the shortening... not sure if it was that or something else... I found this to taste good but was too dry. Maybe I overcooked it, but I think I took it out in time. The top was barely golden brown. The flavor was good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Excellant recipe bev... texture was perfect as was the taste.. copied your cornbread dressing recipe and will use it soon.. thanks for all your recipes, we really enjoy them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Very very good! THE recipe to use if you don't like sweet cornbread. I couldn't stop eating it, and definitely ate more than I meant to! I used yellow cornmeal, lemon juice+skim milk in place of buttermilk, and 2 T. vegetable oil in place of the shortening and grease. I also baked it in a round cake pan, as I don't have a skillet. It was done in only about 15-16 minutes, so make sure you check it periodically!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Sheer perfection!! This is exactly the way my mother taught me to make cornbread, but... (and that's a very big "BUT"!)... she cooked instinctively, never really measuring, just adding stuff until it 'looked right'. Since I have no natural cooking ability at all, sometimes mine turned out okay and sometimes it didn't. I desperately needed a recipe with all those amounts down in black and white, and THIS IS IT! The dressing I served this Thanksgiving would have made my mama proud. It's all about the cornbread.... Thanks a million, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      The perfect, non-sweet cornbread. Would be great in dressing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This is life-changing cornbread. Perfect density, plenty cornmeal taste, and a crunchy crust. Yum! I made a few minor changes--regular yellow cornmeal and 2 T canola oil instead of the shortening and bacon grease. Thanks for posting. Now I can quit searching for the perfect cornbread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Skillet Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.0
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    30%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 53.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1047.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes