16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to make a second batch of these because the first ones (the ones I made as written) didn't turn out very well. Just a few notes...don't use salt that is at all coarse or it won't stick. I finely ground the salt for the second batch and it went much better. Also, I switched the measurements on the second batch (1 tsp. flour and 2 tsp. salt) and it turned out with much better flavor, though I might cut it back to 1-1/2 tsp on the salt next time. They were pretty close to the canned ones, though not exact. I used them in my broccoli salad and it turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen March 25, 2010

Well, I made this recipe for my husband who is a smoked almond monster. Clearly one cup wont cut it as I noticed "2 bags of almonds" added to my grocery list. Need I say more? Super easy to make & fast too! I did add a little more "smoke" which went over well. Thanks for posting (I think)! Di ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's March 09, 2011

Excellent recipe. I forgot to buy smoked almonds for my smokey swiss cheeseball so I tried this recipe---tastes just like the ones from the store for a much smaller price. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird December 17, 2003

Fabulous! This is much better than the overpriced stuff you buy in cans here. My husband adores smoked almonds and he thought these were fantastic. I followed the recipe but cut back a little on the salt as I find liquid smoke to be salty anyway. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook June 30, 2011

I could eat these all the time. Great snack and easy to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound March 13, 2010

Just made this and it turned out AWESOME! I made a double batch and followed the recipe exactly, although I didn't use all of the flour/salt mixture because at a certain point it looked like it wasn't sticking to the almonds anymore and was just falling to the bottom of the bowl. I had no problems with burning or clumping (I sprinkled the flour mixture very gradually with my fingers about a foot above the bowl while continuously mixing the almonds) and the almonds turned out perfect! Thanks for such an easy, tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilicat March 06, 2010

This does taste just like Smokehouse almonds! The only problem I encountered was the flour and salt mixture "clumped up" a little bit on the almonds. Tried the almonds in this recipe: Mamma Caye's Gazpacho De Blanco (White Cold Soup). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL July 15, 2009

Hmmm? I've tried this recipe to the letter and have to agree with Andi...Wasn't good and was definitely over done...Sandy , could you review and see if there was an error in the timing? recipe? and or mix?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
watero September 11, 2008

I think I did something wrong... Ok, I know I did something wrong. My cooking oil was on the verge of going bad, so that gave the nuts an "off flavor". And I burnt them. Duh. Oh well, I'll just have to try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate January 31, 2008

Who would have thought you could make these at home? Quite tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rma123 June 11, 2007
Smoked Almonds