23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty and easy, my two favorite words for a recipe! I used Grands Honey Butter biscuits, and the sweetness was a nice complement to the beef mixture. I used fresh mushrooms (more than the recipe called for) but was otherwise true to the recipe. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahcannon2003 June 23, 2014

This was good, we'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO May 03, 2009

Something went very wrong. Biscuit never cooked despite 15 extra minutes. Big, soggy, tasteless mess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSMontana January 08, 2009

I will be making this one again! My husband who never tries anything new loved it and even asked to bring some with him on the road with him, so I know it was a hit with him! Thanks much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mnheartbreaker December 09, 2008

OMGOODNESS! My family raves about this one! This is the 5th time I've made it and they can't get enough. I add both black olives and mushrooms, and for a little more flavor, I add dill weed. To save money, I use ground turkey instead of beef, no one knows any different because I didn't say a thing, it still comes out FANTASTIC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyndi2 December 07, 2008

One of my favorite meals!! I made this originally after seeing it in TOH, but when I saw it on here I just had to add my thumbs up. I like to use fresh portabella or "porteenie" mushrooms instead of the canned, but other than that, it is fantastic as-is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akittennamedrachel October 24, 2008

Excellent recipe! I've made it about 5 times already and keep forgetting to review it. I originally made it exactly as written, but then came the inevitable changes to make it more South Beach friendly: I exchanged ground beef for ground turkey - less fatty and it went better with the feta. I exchanged fresh spinach for the frozen spinach. I hate mushrooms so I exchanged them with black olives. Exchanged 3 cloves of minced garlic for the garlic powder. Finally, which made the biggest addition, was instead of fussing with canned biscuits, I made the mile high biscuit recipe (using whole wheat flour intead of white) and just pressed that into the bottom of the pan. I used an 9x11 pan, doubled the ingredients and used the entire biscuit dough. Came out FABULOUS! Plenty for lucheon leftovers and midnight snacks for the guys. It's a regular on the monthly rotation now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MezzoMom10 August 11, 2008

I made this last night, and it was easy and quick to put together. I followed the directions exactly, using feta cheese. However, neither my husband nor I really cared for it. The taste really wasn't bad, but it just wasn't for us. There was a lot of ground beef in proportion to the other ingredients, and it was more deep dish than I thought it would be. The beef, spinach and cheeses just didn't meld together like I thought they would. Each ingredient remained separate, even when baked. Thank you for sharing, but we probably won't be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 July 14, 2008

This was good and easy to make. I made it in an 8x8 dish and changed the proportions some. Only used 1/2 lb ground beef, but used the full 10 oz of spinach, and all the feta cheese. I also subbed black olives instead of mushrooms because thought they would be great with the feta. And they were. After I put it in for about 10 minutes, I thought "that looks really dry" Then realized I had forgot to add the drizzle of butter so drizzled some olive oil in middle of cooking, which took care of that problem. Thanks for the easy recipe. I usually have these ingredients on hand, so it will be a repeat for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzblizz April 20, 2008

this couldn't have been any easier! and hubby loved it! thanks so much, we will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papersouls February 21, 2008
Spinach Beef Biscuit Bake